Posted by: incywincy | September 12, 2007

I Don’t Get It

I don’t understand people who stroll into class after half the lesson is already over, then ask me for my notes and expect me to spend my break time explaining all the concepts that the lecturer went through.

I don’t understand people who don’t want to start early on their own projects, then ask me (when they finally realise it is time to start panicking) to let them take a look at my project so that they have an idea on how to start writing theirs.

I don’t understand people who don’t take notes during classes, and at the end of the lesson, ask me if I could send a copy of all the notes that I took down on my laptop.

I don’t understand people who even need to copy what I highlight on my lecture notes. I don’t understand people who actually feel that it’s actually okay to ask me if I can help them photostat a copy of my textbook (additional readings) which I took the effort to get from the library or from friends in other schools. I don’t understand people who ask me questions like, “How do you study ah?” Erm. I read. And then I think about the stuff that I’ve read.

At the risk of getting flamed, I still want to say that I find the most insufferable people to be those who lack intelligence and still don’t put in the effort. Not all people are born equal, of course, but those who are stupid should put in more effort.


Responses

  1. Tell them F.O. la lol. Why do you even oblige?

  2. relax sweetie.

    just tell them, you are not obligated to help them πŸ™‚

  3. I do agree that your post sounds somewhat elitist.. but I totally agree with you.

    Nothing is more annoying than people who are lazy.. Work for yourself damnit..

  4. i hate it when pple dont do a thing and then ACT like they know-it-all.
    super irritating.
    and i cant stand pple who thinks tt by gathering the smartest pple in ur grp u’ll get the best grades.
    crazy.
    it’s more abt compatible working style.

  5. i hate people like that too…you didnt reveal if u obliged. i’ll kill u if u did…

  6. lol at the last line!

    Those people sound really annoying. No wait, what’s worse than annoying?

    Just ignore them babe. You owe them nothing.

  7. There are these kinda free-loaders everytime, everywhere.

    As classmates, I think we should help each other, but honestly, if it gets too “one-way”, it gets damn fustrating… lol

    But then again, we are nice sweeeeeet pple. When pple ask, we find it hard to say no…

  8. Then just give them the wrong info .. hehehe πŸ˜€

    That’ll be so much fun!

  9. YES.. in fact i’ve been facing the exact same problem as you recently.. i don’t understand how thick-skinned some people can get by skipping the lectures or sleep during lessons, and EXPECT you to lend them notes to copy.

    I wanted to blog about that too.. but apparently, some of these peeps read my blog regularly.

    What to do? It’s either we tahan, or just tell them once and for all, to take responsibility in attending their own classes.

  10. We lend our helping hands only if ppl want to help themselves..

    [familiar PAP line, but this is how help should work]

  11. ooppsie.. sounds like me.. good friends lend lor.. i only thick skin ask those i’m really close with.. but usually all my close ones also don’t attend so we die together.. haha~

  12. I used to borrow notes (with hand-copied stuff) from classmates. No big deal I guess, you help me, I help you.

  13. jaronliu: i don’t get any help from them.

  14. I faced the same situation as you before. But I think 1. It only makes me stronger/betta, at least I don’t lose by sharing with them my notes (it’s not like sharing money)
    2. Who knows what help you’ll need from them next time?

    If that doesn’t work for you, start an online business selling Daphne’s notes πŸ™‚

  15. Ya I agree with Highway… Sharing anything is fine… EXCEPT money (and maybe women)… Haha…

  16. I agree with Highway on the last point, you can start selling notes online.

    I don’t think it’s a good idea to share notes with those who don’t work hard or pay attention during lesson.

    Academic results depends on both exam score and relative ranking in class. Having good notes do help in exams.

    It would be unfair for yourself and other students who pay attention in class if those who don’t work hard can get detailed notes from you.

    And yes, sharing is two way. One way is called giving.


Leave a comment

Categories