Posted by: incywincy | November 25, 2006

I’m Chinese and proudly so

During an MSN conversation with my elementary / middle international school HK friend, Olivia, who is now studying in Toronto, she said:

“Sometimes we forget our Asian or Chinese roots, not because we are reluctant (to acknowledge it) and not necessarily because we look down upon it, but because of the lack of knowledge.”

Sometimes I marvel at the wise things people say to me. 🙂 We were brought up in quite a mixed environment (in an international school, in a country where Chinese and anything related to this race were, back then, frowned upon), and we’re really too Americanized for our own good. Well, even when we aren’t, our points of view differ greatly in some issues, from our Asian/Chinese counterparts who have, all their lived, been immersed in the Chinese culture and learning environment.

But despite my lack of knowledge about the race, the country, the language, the people, the culture, I’m still proud of being Chinese.


Responses

  1. and being with a Chinese…

  2. Haha.. Are you talking about the ethnic group or the nationality? Haha. 😉

  3. wow… i know some fellow Indians who go to great lengths to hide their origins

  4. I am proud to be Chinese, that is, only because I was born a Chinese.

    If not, I won’t. I mean, if I am not a Chinese, I would look down on Chinese. I wish not to recall how Chinese behave in the public, and how they fight within themselves wherever they are. And many many other factors.

  5. pegasus: i know some malaysians who go to great lengths to make people think they are singaporean.

    BB: well… there are ugly sides to every person, every group of people, every society, every nation. *shrugs*

  6. there is a term in India
    ABCD… American born Confused Desi…


Leave a Reply

Categories

